Foster Culture

October 17, 2007

Aging Out Stats

I just wanted to highlite a few of the statistics I have written in the margins.

50% of people that had been in foster care become homeless at some point in their lives.

30% of foster youth graduate from high school or obtain their GED before they are emancipated or age out of the foster care system.

I talked to a woman that runs a teen homeless street outreach program that told me that 30% of the youth they find living on the streets that they being to the youth shelter had been in foster care at some point in their lives.

These are just a few. I am personally very curious about the percentage of foster youth that receive disability services. I think we will find that a very high percent of foster youth having learning or behavioral disabilities and require special education services and vocational services. There’s more too, but I have to get off the computer now.

1 Comment »

  1. This is definitely an area needing more research- services for foster youth with disa bilities -maybe after I finish my Ed.D!!!

    I’m looking for 25 African American males in Southern California who have left Department of Children’s Services as wards, group home residents, foster careetc. between 18 -28 willing to talk about their transition experience and what ideas they may have for improved services. There is a $20.00 incentive for interviewing with me for about an hour. Contact vjackson@llu.edu or call (909)379-7582. Professor V. Jackson

    Comment by Victoria Jackson — August 28, 2009 @ 7:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

